After Lunch Bunch’ hosts annual Golf Tournament


For 36 years the “After Lunch Bunch” has conducted an annual tournament for their regular players. Regular players are those who have played a minimum of 12 games throughout the past year. Of the 42 golfers that were eligible, 34 competed in the game of Partners Best Ball in two flights. The winners are:

“A” Flight

Nick Valencia (21), Bobby Gunter (19), Jim Paulis (18), Tom Fuhrman (18) and Walt Popper (18)

“B” Flight

Oscar Rowland (25), Lee Lilly (17), Chuck Hudson (16), Hub Watson (16) and Leroy Madera (15).

Along with the Individual Tin Whistle game there was also a “Skins” contest. The winners are:

Dennis Franks (hole 1), Hugh Wagoner (hole 5), Darrell Hartzell (hole 6), Nick Valencia (hole 7), Walt Popper (hole 16) and Tom Scudieri (hole 17).

Following the game, players enjoyed lunch where tournament winners were award their winnings and several others were honored for their play during the past year.

Joe Washle, a recent member of the Octogenarian Group, was awarded a calculator to help him remember his strokes. Harry Larson was presented a trophy for “Sportsman of the Year” for his feat of having never finished “in the money” in the many games he played. Bobby Gunter was honored for winning the most “Skins” during the year and Joe Strong was honored for the most times “in the money.”

The final presentation went to Jeff Roach. Jeff had a perfect attendance during 2016 having played in all 47 games.

The “After Lunch Bunch” plays every Friday with a 10 a.m. tee time. The game is open to all male golfers with an established handicap. Players may enter between 8:30 and 9:00 a.m. in the Magnolia Room at the Country Club or by calling 951-249-4565 or 951-237-6102. Entry fee is $5 with an optional “Skins” game for an additional $5.