CL City Golf Championship winners announced


Fifty-eight golfers competed in the 5th annual Canyon Lake City Golf Championship on Sept. 28 and 29. Christymae Saban of Rancho Santa Margarita took first place in the women’s division. Triston Boose of Wildomar won the men’s division. Their names will be engraved on the perpetual trophy that sits prominently in the display case at the country club.

Sponsored by the City of Canyon Lake and the Canyon Lake POA, the tournament featured five men’s flights and one women’s flight. The tournament was a two-day gross event with players competing with the actual number of strokes made. Handicaps were only used to divide the flights and allow for more competitive groupings.

Men’s Flights 1 and 2 played from the black tees and were competing for the City Championship title while Flights 3, 4 and 5 played from the blue tees and were competing for significant prize money and, of course, bragging rights.

With only six  women in the competition, all were eligible for the City Championship title.

Awards and prizes were awarded to more than half the players. The Flight winners are as follows:

Flight 1: Brandon Mojarro

Flight 2: Koby Mora

Flight 3: Robert McClure

Flight 4: Jon Evans

Flight 5: Mike Pinto

Women’s Flight: Mary Burn.

Next year’s tournament is scheduled for Oct. 3 and Oct. 4.