Marlene Cathro wins President’s Cup Tourney


Marlene Cathro wins the Women’s Golf Club President’s Cup Tournament. Photo provided by Sue Sell

The Canyon Lake Women’s Golf Club held its 46th annual President’s Cup Tournament on June 11 and June 18. There were 26 competitors divided into three flights.

Marlene Cathro was declared the overall 2019 winner and was given a bouquet of flowers and toasted with champagne by the membership. Marlene will have her name inscribed on the perpetual trophy along with all the past winners.

The winners are as follows:

A Flight: Donna Nunes, Sue Sell, Gerry Meeks and Jeannette Williams.

B Flight: Kathy Voss, Ura Furry, Lorrie Sjomeling and Ina Pickard.

C Flight: Joanna Spiller, Linda Johnson, Barbara Spraul and Linda Hudson.

The club congratulates each of the winners and every woman who participated in this major event. The committee thanks Linda Hudson and Linda Helmer for the decorations, Golf Pro Pat Kemball and Assistant Pro Bryan Carlson and their staff for their assistance with the tournament and the country club staff for a delicious lunch.

The Women’s Golf Club is a member of the Southern California Golf Association. The club meets on Tuesdays in the Magnolia Room at the country club between 7 and 7:30 a.m. to tee off at 8 a.m. for 18 holes of golf. The club’s mission is promoted through camaraderie, social events, recognition and tournaments throughout the year. Women in the community are invited to participate in all the club has to offer. For more information, contact President Ura Furry at 951-244-1910.