13th Annual Canyon Lake Car Show Winners…


More than 250 pre-1977 classic and custom vehicles sporting shiny reds, blues and yellows rolled into the Canyon Lake Lodge for the 13th annual Car Show on Saturday.

Sponsored by the Canyon Lake Car Club and POA, the Car Show featured hundreds of vintage cars, trucks and hot rods, food and merchandise vendors, music by High Energy Sound and Lighting, awards, silent auction and prize drawings.

More than 25 awards in various categories were presented by Canyon Lake Car Club President Joe Landin. As hosts of the Car Show, Canyon Lake Car Club members are not eligible to win trophies. Each participant received a Car Show T-shirt, goody bag and a commemorative plaque.

Chip Foose of Foose Designs and the television show Overhaulin’ made a special appearance and signed autographs. Chip also autographed two wagons, donated by Keith Walker of All Out Paintless Dent Removal, that were auctioned off, raising $775 for the Progeria Research Foundation.

The 50/50 drawing raised $1,600, which was split between the winner and the Canyon Lake Family Matters Club.

As a non-profit organization, all of the proceeds from the Car Show are donated to various groups and causes in and outside of Canyon Lake. Since 2011, the Car Show has raised more than $56,000 for such organizations as the Canyon Lake Veterans Memorial, Progeria Research Foundation, Oak Grove Center in Murrieta, Canyon Lake Emergency Preparedness Committee, Canyon Lake Fire Station 60, Canyon Lake Little League, Brett Downey Safety Foundation, Lamb’s Fellowship and Elsinore Middle School, to name a few.

The winners are as follows:

Best of Show

Michael Johns (1977 Pontiac Trans Am)

Best Engine

Rich Ralstin (1931 Ford Model A)

Best Interior Steve Baker (1947 Ford Coupe)

Best Paint

Jeff Walton (1932 Ford Three Window (Coupe)

Foose’s Pick

Jim and Linda Spurbeck  (1950 Olds Delivery)

President’s Choice

Armondo Torres (1961 Chevy Impala)

City Choice

Ron Adler (1965 VW Crew Cab)

Dave Restino (1955 Chevy Bel Air)

POA Choice

Milton Hardaway (1955 Chrysler New Yorker)

Norm Marshall (1947 Ford Coupe)

Best of Class 1900-1928

David Di Carlo (1928 Ford Model A)

Bonnie Landino (1923 Ford T Bucket)

Mark and Vicki Williams (1923 Ford T Bucket)

Best of Class 1929-1936

Ed Len (1932 Ford Roadster Sedan)

Mark Ducharm (1929 Dodge Five Window Coupe)

Bill Clark (1929 Ford Model A Coupe)

Best of Class 1937-1948

Rob and Daryl Weber (1941 Willy’s Coupe)

Ray and Kris Hamblen (1940 Ford Pickup)

Marguerite Jungles (1941 Graham Four Door Sedan)

Best of Class 1949-1954

Colton Stump (1951 Hudson Hornet)

Larry Candelaria (1949 Mercury Coupe)

Dennis McKee (1949 Cadillac Club Coupe)

Best of Class 1955-1964

Walt Lewis (1958 Chevy Impala)

Steve Wessels (1959 VW Single Cab)

Jeremy Kite (1963 Chevy Nova)

Best of Class 1965-1976

Fred Jones (1967 Chevy Pickup)

Roy Ray (1967 Chevy Chevelle

Jay Stewart (1972 Detomaso Pantera)

An event this size takes many volunteers to make it possible. The Car Show Committee members are Russ Smith, Lee Norris, Suzi Delia, Gail McCollom, Pete Delia, Ann Landin and Chuck Casey. The Car Club Board of Directors are President Joe Landin, Vice President Perry Beggs, Treasurer Russ Smith, Secretary Sheryl Lewis and Event Chairman Mark Bann.

The Canyon Lake Car Club holds monthly meetings on the first Thursday in the Holiday Bay Room at the lodge. Anyone owning a pre-1977 vehicle is welcome to attend. Social hour begins at 5:30 p.m. followed by the general meeting at 6:30 p.m. At the meeting members learn about upcoming events, listen to guest speakers and share automotive experiences. Finger foods are served and a 50/50 drawing rounds out the evening. For more information about the Car Club, visit canyonlakecarclub.com or email clcarclub@gmail.com.


About Author

Donna Ritchie