Four residents announce candidacy for city council


The city council nomination period for the City of Canyon Lake ended on Aug. 10. Four residents have announced their candidacy for city council. They are (in alphabetical order): Kasey Castillo, attorney; Dawn Haggerty, incumbent, retired; Jeremy Smith, small business owner; and Vicki Warren, incumbent, paralegal.

City council elections are every two years with members serving four-year terms. The terms of Dawn Haggerty and Vicki Warren end this year, leaving two vacant seats on the city council.

The Canyon Lake City Council is the elected body of City Government that consist of a five-member, non-partisan board elected at large from the citizens of Canyon Lake. The city council members are responsible for formulating the policies for the city and approving the major actions through which the municipal functions are conducted. City council meetings are typically held on the first Wednesday of each month. Closed Session starts at 5:30 p.m.; Open Session starts at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are televised.