CLMS cheer teams are off to a great start


2018/2019 cheer captains, Kaley Pelton, Bella Roe and Kai Rjiejahh. Photo provided by Tammy Howard

The 2018/2019 Canyon Lake Middle School cheer teams are preparing for another great year. This year, there are 27 girls on the varsity team and 19 on the junior varsity team. The varsity team is a performance team, junior varsity is a skills-building team.

Both teams attended a two-day cheer camp at The Spirit Consultants on July 25 and 26. The students learned cheers, motions, jumps, pyramids, stunt technique and two routines. The teams performed for family and friends at the end of camp.

There were eight Spirit Stick recipients who were chosen for their outstanding spirit, leadership and giving more than 100 percent at camp. Day one recipients are Bailey, Callie, Emily and Makayla A. Day two recipients are Lacey, Makayla H, Olivia and Julia.

Both teams performed at Back to School Night on Aug. 9. The varsity team will be performing at the Kick Off Assemblies on Aug. 17 and the Student of the Month Character Counts Assemblies on Sept. 14.

“We expect wonderful things from this group of girls this year,” said coach Tammy Howard.

The varsity team members who reside in Canyon Lake are Allyson Villarreal, Amara Noon, Brooke Helbock, Callie Reeves, Eliana Ruyle, Emily Graham, Emma Dornay, Julia Zitzke, June Wright, Katelynn Stout, Kennedy Benham, Kolena Apana, McKenzie Cassara, Natasha Warner, Riley Bergherm, Rula Katsouridis, Sawyer Lanouette and Summer Scott. Additional varsity team members are captain Bella Roe, Gage Dudziak, captain Kai Rjiejahh, captain Kaley Pelton, Katrina deVera, Lacey Castillo, Marichelle Villamar, Mila Crawford and Serenity Llorin.

The junior varsity team members who reside in Canyon Lake are Alyssa Martin, Bailey Graham, Emma Cole, Makayla Acock, Makayla Herbert, Olivia Brunson, Ryann Boshard, Serafina Smith and Taylor Tello. Additional junior varsity team members are Ariel Vasquez, Ashlee Fernandez, Breanna Asandoh, Delaney Shaw, Emily Bak, Estefanee Gutierrez, Meray Saad, Ryleigh Cooley, Tiara Sumual and Trinity Irvin.