Gerry Meeks wins CLWG Club Championship


Gerry Meeks is the overall gross winner of the Women’s Golf Club’s 45th annual Club Championship Tournament. Photo provided by Barbara Spraul

The Canyon Lake Women’s Golf Club held its 45th annual Club Championship Tournament on April 17, 19 and 24. There were 31 players and three flights. Gerry Meeks was declared the overall gross winner and was toasted with champagne, received flowers and will have her name engraved on the perpetual club championship trophy. Gerry had a score of 265, eight strokes over her closest competitor.

Flight winners are as follows:

A Flight: Marilyn Bridges, Mary Burns, Anita Fairfield and Babette Stubbs

B Flight: KK Beecher, Dianne Schneider, Kathy Voss and Donna Nunes

C Flight: Linda Hudson, Mimi LaRosa, Linda Johnson and Joanna Spiller

The club congratulates all the winners and the other women who participated in this major event and thanks Merilyn Murphy and Alice Ramirez for the very festive table decorations, Golf Pro Pat Kemball and his staff for their assistance with the tournament and the country club staff for a delicious lunch.

The Women’s Golf Club is a member of Southern California Golf Association. The club meets on Tuesdays in the Magnolia Room at the country club. Players must check in before 7:30 a.m.; start time is 8 a.m. Major tournaments include the President’s Cup, Club Championship and Senior Tournament. For more information, contact Ura Furry at 951-244-1910.