Community gathers for National Day of Prayer


Photo by Donna Ritchie

The community gathered in the Holiday Bay Room at the lodge on May 3 for Canyon Lake’s 6th annual National Day of Prayer. The morning began with a continental breakfast, followed by prayers, music, a tribute to Billy Graham and a presentation on Honor Flight, a non-profit organization dedicated to transporting as many U.S. military veterans as possible to see the memorials of the respective war(s) they fought in Washington D.C. at no cost to the veterans.

This year’s theme was “Pray for Unity.” Participating churches and clubs included Canyon Lake Community Church, Elevation, Center, New Hope, Lamb’s Fellowship, Canyon Lake Bible Club and Canyon Lake Torah Club.

Lane McKellar served as emcee. Resident Mike Shroyer of Good Time Entertainment provided the patriotic music. The colors were presented by the Elsinore Flying Tigers Jr. ROTC under the direction of Major Charles Ruhl. Michael Thomas gave the address and lead the prayer for those who protect and serve. Peniel Flake sang “I Go to the Rock” and Kylene Evans performed “How Great Thou Art” on her harp.

Those leading prayers included Pastor Dave Dick, Pastor Kasey Crawford, Chris Suit, Pastor Thor Ramsay, Pastor Harvey Flake, Buzzy Enniss, Sherry Reiter, Michael Thomas and Kaitlyn Evans.

The members of this year’s National Day of Prayer Committee are Chair Nancy Horton, Lynda Ofstad, Sue Bonner, Ted Horton, Joan Ellett, Mandy Marquardt, Sherry Reiter, Marvin and Shirley Webster, Jack and Alice Gray, Paul and Mary LeGrice, LaRue McNamara, Joanna Spiller, Lane McKellar and Ron Proeschold.

The committee would like to thank the following event sponsors: Canyon Lake Community Church, Good Time Entertainment, Platinum Plumbing, General Plumbing Services, Torah Club, Ted and Nancy Horton, Jack and Alice Gray, Doug and Michelle Gordon, Ron Proschold, Canyon Lake Bible Fellowship and the Canyon Lake Lioness Club.

National Day of Prayer has been celebrated in the United States since 1952, by joint resolution of Congress and President Harry S. Truman.

In 1988, President Reagan designated the first Thursday in May as National Day of Prayer.