Community comes together for National Day of Prayer


Canyon Lake’s fifth National Day of Prayer was held on May 4 in the Holiday Bay Room at the lodge. Members of the community came together to pray for the community, state and nation. Members of the local fire departments, police departments and the Department of Homeland Security were honored guests.

The event included a continental breakfast followed by prayers, music and testimonies.

Lane McKellar served as emcee, soloist Mollee Dick sang the National Anthem, Canyon Lake’s first mayor Jack Wamsley led the Pledge of Allegiance and the Air Force Jr. ROTC from Elsinore High School under the direction of Major Charles Ruhl presented the Color Guard.

Prayers were led by Dave Dick of Canyon Lake Community Church, Casey Crawford of Elevation Church, Chris Suitt of New Hope Community Church, Thor Ramsay of Center Church, Buzzi Enniss of Lamb’s Fellowship and Steve Epstein and Sherry Reiter of the Canyon Lake Torah Club.

Chaplain Allen Vaughan led the prayer for military and Michael Thomas from the Department of Defense let the prayer for those who protect and serve.

Kaitlyn Evans led the prayer for children. Her 12-year-old sister Kylene played America the Beautiful on the harp. The Flake family sang Amazing Grace. Other music was provided by Canyon Lake resident Mike Shroyer of Good Times Entertainment.

Addresses were given by Cynthia Ross of In His Presence Ministries, Chaplain Allen Vaughan and Michael Thomas.

Sponsors of this event include the Canyon Lake Lioness Club, Canyon Lake Bible Club, Doug and Michelle Gordon and several local churches.

The National Day of Prayer Committee Chair is Nancy Horton. Other members include Sherry Reiter, Steve and Ruth Martin, Joanna Spiller, Lynda Ofstad, Mandy Marquardt, Jack and Alice Gray, Joan Ellett, Paul and Mary LeGrice, Marvin and Shirley Webster and Ted Horton.

The National Day of Prayer has been celebrated in the United States since 1952, by joint resolution of Congress and President Harry S. Truman. In 1988, President Reagan designated the first Thursday in May as the National Day of Prayer.