Lions and Lioness install new officers


Members of the Canyon Lake Lions and Lioness Clubs met at the Lodge in June for their annual dinner and installation of officers for 2016-2017 club year. Following dinner and salute to the American flag, Lion President Bob Hurst introduced Lion District Governor David Radtke. The governor congratulated the outgoing officers of both clubs for their successful year and dedication to Lionism.

He then inducted the new members of the Lioness Club: Ollie Birkett, Pat DePalma, Janice Ellis, Lila Gann and Jean Willey. Van Neely was brought in as the newest member of the Lions Club.

David then installed the new officers and wished them a successful year. Lions Club officers are President Bob Hurst, First Vice George Middle, 2nd Vice and Tail Twister Phil Coughlin, Secretary Don Riley, Treasurer and Lion Tamer Joanna Spiller, Membership LaRue McNamara and Bulletin Editor Jack Melcher.

Lioness officers are President Lois Bevins, 1st Vice Mary Craton, 2nd Vice Opal Parmer, 3rd Vice Kay Nicholl, Secretary Joanne Riley, Recording Secretary LaRue McNamara, Treasurer Joanna Spiller, Lioness Tamer Laverne Cann, Tail Twister Rita Wacker, Directors Ginger Harris and Barbara Weatherman, Membership Lorraine Lafferty, Bulletin Editor Nancy Coughlin and Immediate Past President Sharon Ormond.

Both clubs will continue to raise funds to support Lion projects as well as local charities. For more information, contact Lion Membership Chair LaRue McNamara at 244-6470 or Lioness Membership Chair Lorraine Lafferty at 244-1684.