All California State fishing regulations apply when fishing in Canyon Lake. Everyone over the age of 16, including members, must have a California State Fishing License. The fine for not having one is $100.
The number of fishing poles per person shall not exceed the number licensed for on the California Fishing License. Only one pole per guest is allowed.
License and permits must be visible at all times. Members are required to have their POA ID card in possession as well. The Canyon Lake Police Department and California State Game Warden may confiscate fishing gear for violation of California State fishing laws.
Guest fishing permits can be purchased at the POA office at a cost of $5 per day or $20 for ten days. Before a permit can be issued, a visiting guest who is fishing without the homeowner present is required to bring their printed guest pass from the gate and their California State Fishing License, ID and payment to Member Services or the campground office.
Guests using a fishing flotation tube must be within 100 feet of the member’s floatation tube with whom they’re fishing. The following are fishing tube requirements that are outlined in the POA’s Rules and Regulations:
Four 2-inch by 4-inch strips of reflective material spaced evenly on the outside of the tube.
One whistle, between the hours of almanac sundown and sunrise.
One flashlight, between the hours of almanac sundown and sunrise.
Whistle and flashlight must be in possession of the fisherman.
One approved lifejacket.
Fishing in not permitted by land on the main causeways, over the boat tunnel and at the lodge and surrounding areas. The violation fine is $50.
Fishing is allowed on the common docks. Night fishing is permitted in accordance with California Fishing Regulations.
For a complete list of fishing rules and violation fines, visit the POA website at canyonlakepoa.com.
Current fishing reports can be found at